As pointed out earlier by Fake-Rob Williams, Entergy has taken down its ridiculous "I Am VY" website. What he didn't mention is that that website has been replaced with a new one, http://www.safecleanreliable.com. That's right: it's all one big green glowing word now.
Will you ever look at the words "safe," "clean" or "reliable" in the same way again? Like it or not, Entergy has used some serious branding genius to totally co-opt these three once-happy words and twist them to their own purposes.
On my blog, I discuss socially responsible marketing - including the effects of irresponsible marketing on all of us. I'd love to see you there!
Please come and discuss you thoughts on VY's marketing, and whether you think it is dishonest.
SafeCleanReliable: It's All One Big Green Glowing Word Now
Authored by: pjmelton on Friday, March 05 2010 @ 03:43 PM GMT+5
Thanks for clarifying. It does redirect from IAmVY, which has apparently been scrubbed. Any insider knowledge as to why that is? Perhaps the need for astro-turfing materials had passed? (Obviously, I was only joking in the blog post about it being scrubbed because of my brilliant marketing advice.)
Also, would you mind posting this clarification as a comment on the blog itself? Thanks.
---
"Economic laws are not made by nature. They are made by human beings." -- FDR
SafeCleanReliable: It's All One Big Green Glowing Word Now
Authored by: Maus Anon E on Friday, March 05 2010 @ 08:18 PM GMT+5
Perhaps the employees that were featured on iamvy weren't too thrilled to find they were suddenly syonymous with a structurally deficient tritium-leaking wreck of a nuclear plant and its lying (or stupid) management.
Of course, VY calling itself "Safe, Clean and Reliable" is like something from mind of Karl Rove.
Authored by: DanAxtell on Friday, March 05 2010 @ 10:21 PM GMT+5
DangerousToxicDeceptive.com is available! For ten bucks, you can register that domain name. Domain registrars give you a free email account with the registration, so you could have the email address safecleanreliable@dangeroustoxicdeceptive.com, if you like.
Oops, now that I've posted the address on a public web page, email address harvesting bots will find it and start spamming it. So, never mind.
Looks like it's just a redirect.