"Home is a place you grow up wanting to leave, and grow old wanting to get back to." - John Ed Pearce

User login

Who's online

There are currently 0 users and 34 guests online.

Welcome to iBrattleboro!

Welcome to iBrattleboro!
It's a local news source by and for the people of Brattleboro, Vermont, published continually. You can get involved in this experiment in citizen journalism by submitting meeting results, news, events, stories, reviews, how-to's, recipes, places to go, things to do, or anything else important to Brattleboro. Or, just drop by to see what others have contributed.

Find iBrattleboro on:

 Twitter YouTube

Search the Archives

Ye Olde iBrattleboro Archive

Use the pulldown to choose desired number of results.


Search the first decade
of iBrattleboro archives
at Archive-It.org
Feb 20, 2003 to Feb 6, 2013

Sovernet/First Light Spam is Already Circulating Soon After Merger

I received this email today; it is NOT from Sovernet or First Light.  If you receive one, do NOT respond or click on links.

The actual email address it comes from is a gmail address, not an official corporate address.

Welcome to Sovernet Communications | FirstLight Fiber.

Dear email subscriber.
We wish to inform you that,we are currently performing scheduled
maintenance and improvement on our services account and as a result of
this your account must be updated.We apologize for the
inconvenience.To keep your account active, you must answer this
message immediately and enter the following information below:



Failure to do this withing 72 hours, immediately we are going to make
your account deactivate from our data base. Thank you for using our
WEB-MAIL SUPPORT WEB mail account ABN 31088377860 All rights reserved.
School Board of Orange County, Florida. All rights reserved. 10700
Ford Street, Mendocino, CA 95460

Email Account upgrading Sovernet Communications | FirstLight Fiber 2017


Comments | 4

Comment viewing options

Select your preferred way to display the comments and click "Save settings" to activate your changes.

Response From FirstLight

This one really did come from marketing@firstlight.net

"You may have received a spoofed email message appearing to come from Sovernet/FirstLight regarding service changes and asking that you reply to the message with your username and password. Please note Sovernet/FirstLight did not send this message, and it is not a legitimate email. FirstLight takes the security of your account and information very seriously, and as such, we would never ask for your password to be sent to us via email, instant message, or over the phone.

If you receive the spoofed email asking for your credentials, please do not reply to it or click any of the links it contains. Instead, please delete the email immediately.

If you feel you have may have provided your Sovernet/FirstLight username and password to anyone, you can change your password on our website at www.firstlight.net/change-your-password-sovernet-support/ or you can contact our support group by emailing them by clicking here or you can access the form and password reset link directly from our website at www.FirstLight.net.

We appreciate your business and look forward to continuing to serve you."

Even though I know this is legitimate, I would probably still choose to go directly to FirstLight's website rather than clicking on its link in this email, just because that is a good safe habit to get into in general.


"Spoof"? What a weird way to

"Spoof"? What a weird way to describe a scam email!


A slightly incorrect way, too...

"Spoof" is a techie term for when someone uses someone else's e-mail address to send out messages appearing to come from that account (but aren't).

This scam came from a gmail account, so technically they were not spoofing FirstLight. If they had been, the address would have appeared to be from FirstLight.

I'd call this phishing - trying to trick someone into giving up account details.


Be prepared

The vultures are out there.


iBrattleboro Poll

60 degree temperatures in Brattleboro in February are