"You do not lead by hitting people over the head. That's assault, not leadership." - Dwight D. Eisenhower

User login

Who's online

There are currently 0 users and 29 guests online.

Welcome to iBrattleboro!

Welcome to iBrattleboro!
It's a local news source by and for the people of Brattleboro, Vermont, published continually. You can get involved in this experiment in citizen journalism by submitting meeting results, news, events, stories, reviews, how-to's, recipes, places to go, things to do, or anything else important to Brattleboro. Or, just drop by to see what others have contributed.

Find iBrattleboro on:

 Twitter YouTube

Search the Archives

Ye Olde iBrattleboro Archive

Use the pulldown to choose desired number of results.


Search the first decade
of iBrattleboro archives
at Archive-It.org
Feb 20, 2003 to Feb 6, 2013

Firefox "Urgent" Hoax

If you use Firefox and you get a webpage that URGENTLY tells you to download it, DON'T DO IT!.  It's malware.


Comments | 7

Comment viewing options

Select your preferred way to display the comments and click "Save settings" to activate your changes.

more info?

This "hoax" seems to be lacking some information.

Firefox is browser that needs regular updates, so if Firefox suggests an update, it should be done.

Most people don't download web sites, either. More likely they download a file of some sort. Email attachments and downloaded files can have malware embedded in them.


- what webpage, what did it look like?
- how will someone know this is a fake site when they reach it?
- what was the come on? what were you asked to do?


Bogus Firefox page

I tried to take a screenshot, but didn't succeed. Then I unfortunately deleted the page.
It was bright red, full screen, with Firefox images and used the word "URGENT".
The giveaway was that the sender's address wasn't a legitimate Firefox address I think it was something like "pckeeper".

It asked me to immediately download from the included link.

Whatever, I am convinced it was bogus.

I got it twice, but failed to act.

If it comes back, I'll notify you.


Out to get us

Makes more sense now.

Watch what ye click on! is a good rule of internet safety - on websites and in emails. Some spoofing is quite realistic.

I find that when I'm in doubt, rather than click on the thing, I do research about it - in another browser window, typing in any details I find. Sometime looking at the source code (a browser trick) or the expanded email header info will give clues. Rolling over but not clicking a link sometimes shows if it has additional suspect information.


It's Like Surfing on Lava

I got a virus last week. The Internet isn't safe for anyone.


Here it is!

And here’s the link: 


This doesn’t look right to me.



More info

I was watching "Weather Underground" and this popped up all of a sudden.



You probably clicked on an unknown link at the weather page to reach this.

Mozilla, makers of Firefox, says Firefox updates internally through the browser itself with a .mar file, and there is no such thing as a Firefox update to install.

This scammer seems to be trying to get you to install javascript (.js) to then do something to your machine. Others try to get Windows users to install .exe files.

Always go to the Firefox web site to check for updates. Report this scam to Firefox/Mozilla and to the weather page, too, if you want.

The screen grab helps! If anyone else sees this type of page, ignore it and back away!

(ps. I edited your url a bit here so it won't be an active link and we don't lead others to infection)


iBrattleboro Poll

Which should Brattleboro have?